Your Song Makes a Difference

hymnguitar.jpg

It amazes me how much of a difference a song makes. It can be the determining factor between a pall of gloom and an updraft of hope; between an awkward silence and a friendly ambience. A song is a subtly powerful testimony.

I’ve always loved music…turning silence into song has never felt as random to me as it apparently does to other people. Comments upon this habit of mine have surfaced from folk who consider it slightly deranged that I prefer filling void moments with song rather than attempting conversation. Also, I suspect that I tend to annoy friends and foes alike by spontaneously joining into whatever melody I hear, uninvited.

I currently work for a couple at a senior living facility, and on my way through the halls, fetching meals or doing laundry, I like to sing. And it surprises me how many people notice it. Their comments always run along the lines of, “somebody’s happy today!” They assume I am in good spirits because I am singing, even if the tune may be full of minor keys. This week someone expressed bewilderment that I was singing while lugging a basket of laundry down stairs.

These incidents made me ponder the importance of always having a song to sing. After all, the Bible does have quite a bit to say on the subject.

Ephesians 5:19 “Speaking to yourselves in psalms and hymns and spiritual songs, singing and making melody in your heart to the Lord…” 

Psalm 40:2-3 “He brought me up also out of an horrible pit, out of the miry clay, and set my feet upon a rock, and established my goings. And he hath put a new song in my mouth, even praise unto our God: many shall see it, and fear, and shall trust in the Lord.” 

I don’t always have a song in my heart, a melody sweet enough to keep a smile on my face and bright enough to keep my head up in fits of despondency. Most of the time the song I sing springs from a need to put my spirit back in tune when all within me feels ajar. I noticed an especial urge to sing while on my missions trip to two countries resistant to Christianity. In such an atmosphere of spiritual darkness, my spirit felt an even greater compulsion to fill the deep void with music about Jesus, and hymns seemed to flow to my lips everywhere I went.

Even those who do not enjoy making music cannot deny the power of a song. Every day we see the affects of popular music on our culture–most of it negative. How much more of an affect could we have on our world if we yielded our music to God and resolved to be music-makers for His glory? We have something to sing about–the greatest reasons on earth to make a joyful noise and fill each day with praise to our Creator and Savior!

Psalm 89:1 “I will sing of the mercies of the Lord for ever: with my mouth will I make known thy faithfulness to all generations.” 

Psalm 146:2 “While I live will I praise the Lord: I will sing praises unto my God while I have any being.” 

Psalm 18:49 “Therefore will I give thanks unto thee, O Lord, among the heathen, and sing praises unto thy name.”

Let’s use our song to make a difference for the Lord!

—Libby 

 

Leave a Reply

