Snooze

morning-1092771

Ah, college life. Monday morning dawning scarcely two blinks after one’s bleary eyes are permitted to close late Sunday night. The most disturbing alarm ringtone your repertoire of loud, peppy music could offer clamors forth with malignant delight, evoking muffled groans and frantic clawing as you hasten to turn it off. Your fingers linger over your options…dismiss or snooze? Your groggy decision could determine the success or misery of your entire remaining twenty-four hours. Smugly steal fifteen more minutes of sleepy bliss? Virtuously vault from three layers of blankets into the chill future?

Monday morning (or Tuesday mornings, or Wednesdays, or any mornings really) aren’t the only times we tend to default to the snooze button. I’ve noticed that we can also exercise that option on God and His will for us. We might say, “I’m a freshman in college—I’ve got four years to spare…I don’t have to get involved in ministry yet.” Or, “I’m only a senior in high school…got my whole life ahead…I don’t have to accept personal responsibility now.” Or, “I’ll see that person again…I’ll wait till then to witness to him.” Or, “God knows I love Him…He won’t mind if I don’t make Him priority today since I’m so busy. ”

What we sow is what we will eventually reap. The Bible says he that sows to the Spirit will reap life everlasting, while those who sow to the flesh will only reap corruption. Would we want God to utilize the snooze button on our prayers? No, we would say He is supposed to answer our slightest behest with lightning rapidity. Then why do we as His children assume we can put our Heavenly Father’s commands on hold while we sleep on the job?

Romans 13:11-12 “And that, knowing the time, that now it is high time to awake out of sleep: for now is our salvation nearer than when we believed. The night is far spent, the day is at hand: let us therefore cast off the works of darkness, and let us put on the armour of light.” 

We cannot afford to “sleep in just a little longer” on God’s clock, while precious time is ticking away. We need to awake out of our immaturity and throw off excuses and get going! Don’t let opportunities to serve the Lord expire. Pray now. Work now. Honor your parents now. Learn now. Love your bus kids now. Let’s not snooze on God’s perfect will for us.

Ecclesiastes 11:9-10 “Rejoice, O young man, in thy youth; and let thy heart cheer thee in the days of thy youth, and walk in the ways of thine heart, and in the sight of thine eyes: but know thou, that for all these things God will bring thee into judgment. Therefore remove sorrow from thy heart, and put away evil from thy flesh: for childhood and youth are vanity.” 

1 Corinthians 13:11 “When I was a child, I spake as a child, I understood as a child, I thought as a child: but when I became a man, I put away childish things.” 

1 Corinthians 15:34 “Awake to righteousness, and sin not; for some have not the knowledge of God: I speak this to your shame.”

—Libby

Leave a Reply

