Random Quotures

nochange
Hi y’all! Here are some random profundities that have challenged me lately so I turned them into quotures (that’s quote and picture squashed together.)

jmgregSince I am studying Elementary Education as my major, I have sat in several classes on the subject and found them to be life changing. Or maybe perspective changing. Either way, immensely helpful in teaching me the building blocks of teaching…there is so much science to it all. Every class period reveals treasure troves of practical wisdom that I can use right now as a tutor for elementary students. I have been tutoring several 5th and 6th graders for a few months and I cannot express how much my education classes are helping me figure out my role as a teacher. Speaking of tutoring…

tutoringthinkSometimes I feel I am a “shepherd of eager youth,” deftly guiding my flock towards the beckoning peaks of truth and ultimate success. Sometimes I feel like the matron of an insane asylum, continuously ambushed by an uprising of the inmates.

tutoringstudentsI am a prison warden, folks. I delight in detaining certain victims of ADHD abominably long after class for the heinous purpose of hammering back into their heads the concepts they are already trying so desperately to forget. At least, that’s the children’s side of the story.

tutoringactuallyI harbor a shuddering suspicion that I am really quite an unmitigated bore. But I don’t want to be. So I am determined to conquer my talent for exercising my pupils’ lower jaws and develop the useful talent of being interesting.

right oneOn that note of self-improvement… being a girl in college can be trying on one’s emotions and patience while waiting for God’s perfect will to walk into your life with the MRS degree you have fondly anticipated. But putting the cart before the horse has yet to be proven as a successful practice. Why do we assume that we deserve Mr. Right if we are not actively working on becoming the Mrs. Right a man of God needs?

valdateValentine’s Day in my dorm…

beauty isThe Bible says, “As a jewel of gold in a swine’s snout, so is a fair woman which is without discretion.” Also, “Favour is deceitful, and beauty is vain: but a woman that feareth the Lord, she shall be praised.” Are we spending an hour in front of the mirror but only a glance at our Bible? Does our appearance make us late for our ministries or incapable of hard work? At this point in my life, I want to focus on who I am on the inside more than on whom I can impress by the outside, because priorities ought to be determined by shelf-life.

iseenPerhaps you aren’t the type who cares about grammar and its blissful agonies of intricate intrigue. I happen to be that type of person. I possess the woeful ability to catch the slightest infraction like a fine-mesh sieve. This may be useful as an editor for some grand work of theology but can be horrific as a student taking a midterm scarred by typographical errors or listening to a sermon choked with cliches and colloquialisms of the lowest degree. I have to remind myself that man shall not live by grammar alone. There are things more important than a perfectly worded sentence. Many people that God used in the Bible had little to no education. They were blunt, practical, even provincial, but they did their job as they were led of the Holy Ghost, “that your faith should not stand in the wisdom of men, but in the power of God.” I would be crippling myself if I accepted or rejected preachers, bus kids, friends, based on their level of education. A constant lesson for me is to learn to see people as my Lord sees them. To develop spiritual glasses showing me their true credentials…not how many degrees are strapped onto their name, but how much they can accomplish for God’s glory through His power.

–Libby

Leave a Reply

