Quote Trail Mix

Here, a trail mix of quotes I found appealing this week.

simpleanswers.jpgThis is how life has felt for me for a week or so. Never mind, this is my life story. Somehow I am ever capable of working myself into a frenzy over questions that really are not as meltdown-worthy as I have convinced myself to believe. No matter how many ways one finds to phrase one’s questions, they are unoriginal, universal, and answerable. The answer just may not be what you are asking for.

painfulbest.jpgI’m glad somebody like Lewis was able to take my thoughts and translate them into words. Except that now I am conscience-stricken for thinking such things.

notagenius.jpgAnybody else have these moments? I don’t know why I seem so fixated upon being a genius. Maybe it’s my insecure introvert soul desperately wishing I had something to offer, something to give me worth, something that made the world need my existence. Of course I know I have worth in Christ and that hard work could get me further than genius. But the fears still surface now and then. 😉

sametruth.jpg You know how it goes…one person mentions something random and another person agrees. Then as more random ideas are thrown out there, and those two people keep up a steady stream of understanding and affirmation, those random things become like hooks that draw the speakers’ souls toward each other. A mutual bond of acceptance is telegraphed through eyes that widen in surprise and then crinkle in smiles of empathy. And that is usually how friendships begin.

whoiwas.jpgHave you ever paused midsentence while reading a book and just vaguely wondered if something life-changing lay in the next few lines? Or been chilled numb after a seemingly insignificant decision by the thought that it might unleash all the possibilities of miracles into your future? Maybe I am too philosophical for my own mental health. But that’s the way my mind works. And after keeping a journal for 10 years, I can thumb through so many stages of my life and laugh or cry at the numberless changes, large and small, which I have undergone. This month has held many days in which I hardly knew myself at nightfall. I suppose this is to be expected when one is trying to grow up.

littledeathss.jpgIndeed. As the Bible says, “I am crucified with Christ.” “I die daily.” “If any man will come after me, let him deny himself, and take up his cross daily, and follow me.” Every time we choose Christ instead of the world, or the way of the Spirit instead of the way of the flesh, something dies and something else is able to live more abundantly. 2 Timothy 2:11 “For if we be dead with him, we shall also live with him.” A sacrifice is no sacrifice if it does not cost, if something does not die. If we are to live in constant surrender to God, our rebellion will need to suffer countless little deaths.

itsnot.jpgYou have probably heard the saying: “Be the change you want to see in the world.” If more of us stopped complaining and started BEING what we wanted to see, perhaps the church and society in general would resemble Christ a great deal more. Change does not happen by everybody going with the crowd, succumbing to the domino effect. It happens when one person stands up and steps out and chooses to be different. For Christ’s sake, not just defiance’ sake.

GodsgiftsWhy do we suffer those countless little deaths that purge us into fruitful branches? Why do we accept the pain that comes with choosing God’s realities instead of our expectations? Why do we submit our questions and confusion to the black-and-white of the simple answer? Because we believe that God’s gifts put man’s best dreams to shame. And they do.

1 Corinthians 2:9 “Eye hath not seen, nor ear heard, neither have entered into the heart of man, the things which God hath prepared for them that love him.”

 

—Libby

 

Leave a Reply

