Colosseum or Cabin?

soulfood
photo by Libby

This quote has been my motto from the start of this blog. I lose sight of its purpose at times; I am ridiculously distractible. But my Lord has a kind habit of harking me back to the fundamental reason for my writing, for my living. It’s not to bring glory to me, but glory to God.

Ps 96:3 Declare his glory among the heathen, his wonders among all people.

 Ps 115:1 Not unto us, O LORD, not unto us, but unto thy name give glory, for thy mercy, and for thy truth’s sake. 

1Co 1:31 That, according as it is written, He that glorieth, let him glory in the Lord.

Self-promotion comes naturally to us all, but especially to insecure people. We try so hard to convince ourselves and others that we have worth, that we matter, that we are talented and brilliant and wise and wonderful. We say we just want to be normal. What we really mean is that we want to be accepted. And to become accepted we are often willing to do highly abnormal things, even sin.

coliseum-1162773.jpg
photo from Pixabay

Our lives can become like a colosseum, a visibly impressive arena in which we allow savage ambition and arrogance to play like the gladiators of old. We may even sacrifice relationships, throwing them to the wild animals (or under the bus) so we come out on top, so we get the glory. So that our insecure hearts can be soothed with the knowledge of victory, however dishonorably it was won. Proverbs 25:27 It is not good to eat much honey: so for men to search their own glory is not glory.
Joh 7:18 He that speaketh of himself seeketh his own glory: but he that seeketh his glory that sent him, the same is true, and no unrighteousness is in him.

cabin-1082063
photo from Pixabay

I don’t want my life or my blog to be a colosseum of brute desires and vicious sparring to be the best. I want to be like a cabin—a simple, sturdy refuge in the wilderness. A lone sentinel shining God’s light into a world full of darkness, cold, and confusion. Ps 30:12 To the end that my glory may sing praise to thee, and not be silent. O LORD my God, I will give thanks unto thee for ever. 

eiffel-tower-1280022
photo from Pixabay

I don’t even have to soar above everyone else like the Eiffel Tower, grand with prowess and pomp. Just a cabin. Just a dwelling for the Holy Ghost. A place for other sojourners to stop and rest and remember why they are on this journey. Where they can be refreshed by God’s Word and the simplicity that is in Christ.

What kind of life are you building? A colosseum or a cabin?

—Libby

 

 

Leave a Reply

