My Life Verse

Many Christians speak of having a life verse from the Bible; a verse that describes what God has done for them, or what they hope God will do in their lives in the years to come. I had a hard time at first, choosing a life verse…there were just too many amazing verses to pick only one!

At last, the Lord showed me 1 Samuel 12:24 “Only fear the Lord, and serve him in truth with all your heart: for consider how great things he hath done for you.” This truly encapsulates my life as it has been and as I hope it to be! I am a fearful person…I fear speaking to people, trying new things, learning to drive, navigating airports, and a hundred other perfectly sane and essential parts of life. For me, learning to fear God alone instead of everything else may be a lifelong lesson.

I also have a habit of serving “because it’s the right thing to do,” or to be seen of others, not because of my love for the Lord. God desires truth in the inward parts, and He wants us to serve Him for the right reasons. Ephesians 6:6 “Not with eyeservice, as menpleasers; but as the servants of Christ, doing the will of God from the heart.”

And why should I only fear the Lord and serve Him in truth with all my heart? Not because He is a slave driver, or a Monster to cower before. No, the motive is exactly the opposite! Because of how great things He has done for me! He has been so good to me–how could I grudge Him my love, my life? Jesus Christ invested in my soul when no one but the devil would have bothered. But the devil wanted to use me for my own destruction. God wanted to rescue me and give me a future in paradise!

And His goodness didn’t end with saving my soul from sin– He daily “loaded me with benefits” that I could not have imagined. He gave me to parents with hearts surrendered to His will, following His call to the mission field. He raised me as a third culture kid who got to see firsthand the trials and triumphs of ministry in a foreign land. He added siblings to my family to teach me how creative (and merciful) He is. He led me to friends, genuine kindred spirits, that I would never have reached out to on my own. And He isn’t finished writing my story!! Pondering my future used to fill me with despair…and sometimes still does…until I consider how great things He has done for me. That’s how recalling my life verse renews my purpose and bolsters my faith.

So now you know why 1 Samuel 12:24 is my life verse! I hope the Lord has shewn you yours and that you will share it with me!

 

Leave a Reply

