Return, My Child

IMG_9472 (2)

“Return, my child, to me!”–God’s call throughout the ages.
“Return, my child, to me! I’ve blotted out the pages
That bore your rightful sentence,
Erased at your repentance,
At your remorseful tears.
Return, my child, to me! With outstretched arms I’m waiting;
Return, my child, to me! My eyes anticipating
First glimpse of your returning,
My child for whom I’m yearning,
Despite these wasted years.
Return, my child, to me! I’ve paid for your redemption.
Return, my child, to me! I’ve secured your exemption
From punishment of sinning,
Exchanged the power of winning
The victory over sin.
Return, my child, to me! I bless with joy unceasing.
Return, my child, to me! With peace your soul releasing
From flesh’s fretful roaming;
Your heart to my love homing
To find true rest within.
Return, my child, to me! For gold, my love I proffer.
Return, my child, to me! For food, no husks I offer.
This world’s wealth cannot fund you,
Its dainties cannot feed you
So full as my grace can.
Return, my child, to me! I lead by pleasure’s waters.
Return, my child, to me! I guide my sons and daughters
With eyes that slumber never,
With love that has forever
Called out to wayward man.

–written by Libby
–photo by Libby

Leave a Reply

